Skip to content
Watt Warden

Generators

Which Generators Offer Smart or Remote Monitoring?

Three different things get sold as remote monitoring, and only one of them works when you are not at home. Knowing which you are buying is the entire decision.

By Sawyer V.Updated Published How we work this out
GENMAX GM8000iETC tri-fuel inverter generator

Watt & Warden earns a commission on qualifying purchases made through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never changes a ranking, and our picks include products we tell you to skip. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

#ProductBest forPrice
1
GENMAX GM8000iETC tri-fuel inverter generator

Best overall

GENMAX GM8000iETC tri-fuel inverter generator

The only machine here with a phone app and a 2-wire auto-start input, published at 8,000W surge / 6,000W running on gasoline.

A portable that both reports in and starts itself
$1,499.99 · Check price on Amazon

#ad how this is funded · price as of October 22, 2026

2
maXpeedingrods MXR4000 inverter generator

Best mid-size app-monitored portable

maXpeedingrods MXR4000 inverter generator

4,000W with a Bluetooth app data monitor and a CO alarm, at roughly a third of the price of the pick above.

Watching the machine from indoors during an outage
$499.99 · Check price on Amazon

#ad how this is funded · price as of October 22, 2026 · $535.99 7% off

3
maXpeedingrods MXR2400GT inverter generator

Cheapest way in

maXpeedingrods MXR2400GT inverter generator

2,400W at 33 lb with the same Bluetooth app reporting, a CO alarm, parallel capability and an ECO mode.

A small, light unit for a camper or a short outage
$359.99 · Check price on Amazon

#ad how this is funded · price as of October 22, 2026 · $399.99 10% off

4
Generac 200A automatic transfer switch

What 2-wire auto start is actually for

Generac 200A automatic transfer switch

A 200A automatic transfer switch in a NEMA 3R enclosure that covers the whole panel - the device that sends the start signal.

A generator that starts itself when the power fails
$645.00 · Check price on Amazon

#ad how this is funded · price as of October 22, 2026

5
Westinghouse WGen9500DF

The one without an app, and probably the one to buy

Westinghouse WGen9500DF

9,500 running watts and 12,500 peak, dual fuel, with a remote key fob, an L14-30R and a 14-50R - and no app at all.

Actually powering a house through a multi-day outage
$999.00 · Check price on Amazon

#ad how this is funded · price as of October 22, 2026

Prices come from the retailer at page-build time and change constantly. Where no live price is available the button reads “Check price” rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind.

The verdict, in one paragraph

Three different features get sold as “smart” or “remote” monitoring, and they are not substitutes. Cellular and Wi-Fi monitoring on standby generators is the only one that works when you are not at home — Generac publishes Mobile Link as letting you “monitor the status of your generator from anywhere in the world” and includes it free with every Guardian Series home standby unit. Bluetooth apps on portable generators are a different product: the Bluetooth SIG itself declines to publish a usable range figure, so treat them as a way to read the machine from inside the house, not from away. And 2-wire auto start is not monitoring at all — it is a start signal from a transfer switch. If what you want is to know what your generator is doing while you are at work, the honest answer is a standby unit. If you want to avoid walking outside at 2am, a Bluetooth app or a remote key fob both do that, and the key fob needs no phone.

The three features, side by side

FeatureWhat it actually doesWorks from away?Found on
Cellular / Wi-Fi monitoringText, email and push alerts on status and faultsYes — Generac publishes “from anywhere in the world”Standby generators
Bluetooth appReads the machine from a phone nearbyNo — range is not published by anyone hereSome portable inverters
2-wire auto startLets a transfer switch crank the engine on an outageIt removes the need to be there at allStandby units and a few portables
Remote key fobStarts and stops the machine from indoorsNo, and it does not claim toMost electric-start portables

Each row reflects what the relevant manufacturer publishes, cited under Sources. Live prices sit inside the buy buttons above, each with the date it was last refreshed.

How these were chosen

This site runs no test bench and has not paired a phone to any of these machines. Every figure here is a published manufacturer or listing specification, and every product was checked as currently in stock before it was written up. Three rules applied:

  • The feature had to be named by the manufacturer, not inferred from a photo of a phone on a retail page.
  • Where a maker does not publish something, the entry says so. Bluetooth range and app contents are unpublished across this entire category, and pretending otherwise would be the easiest lie on the page.
  • A machine that cannot carry your loads is not a good buy because it has an app. Hence the last pick, which has no app at all.

What Generac actually publishes

Standby monitoring is the mature end of this category and the claims are specific. Generac's Guardian product page states that “Mobile Link™ Remote Monitoring FREE with every Guardian Series Home standby generator allows you to monitor the status of your generator from anywhere in the world using a smartphone, tablet, or PC.”

Its monitoring page adds what the alerts cover:

  • “Receive up-to-the-minute text, email, and push notifications directly to your smart device.”
  • Status covering whether the unit is “running, exercising, in need of attention, or ready to go”, plus run-time monitoring, exercise schedules and maintenance reminders.
  • An upgrade path: “Upgrade your Wi-Fi connection to Cellular for a more reliable monitoring experience”, with the cellular accessory sold separately.

Two things are worth noticing. The cellular option exists because Wi-Fi monitoring depends on a router that an outage has usually taken down — which is the same trap covered in what a power outage does to your internet. And nothing Generac publishes extends Mobile Link to portable generators; every statement we found is about standby units. Generac versus Kohler compares how the two brands package it.

Why a Bluetooth app is not remote monitoring

The obvious question is how far a phone app reaches, and the answer is that nobody in this category publishes it. GENMAX lists a Bluetooth app as one of four start methods and says nothing about range or what the app displays. maXpeedingrods has no product page for either model at all.

The Bluetooth Special Interest Group — the body that defines the standard — declines to give a single figure, and its own range page is unusually blunt about it:

“More than a kilometer. Less than a meter. The effective, reliable range between Bluetooth devices is anywhere from more than a kilometer down to less than a meter.”

That is a real engineering answer and a useless shopping answer. In practice a generator sits outdoors behind at least one exterior wall, which is the worst case for a 2.4 GHz radio. Treat a Bluetooth app as a same-property feature: genuinely useful for reading fuel level and load from a warm room, and not a substitute for anything that alerts you at work.

2-wire auto start, which is a different feature entirely

A 2-wire start input is a pair of terminals. When an automatic transfer switch sees the grid drop, it closes a contact across them and the generator cranks. GENMAX publishes a “2-Wire Auto GEN Start function” and describes “ATS 2-Wire Auto-Start during outages” on its tri-fuel unit, which is unusual on a portable.

It is worth being clear about what it does and does not buy you:

  1. It does not tell you anything. There is no telemetry in a 2-wire connection — it is a switch closing.
  2. It needs a transfer switch that supports it, which is an automatic one, not the manual kind most portable owners have — manual versus automatic transfer switches sets out the difference and the cost.
  3. It still needs fuel and a charged starting battery. A machine that auto-starts into an empty tank has simply failed automatically.
  4. A portable left outdoors ready to auto-start raises siting, weather and carbon monoxide questions a standby unit answers by design.

What to ask before paying for any of it

  • Does the app work when I am not home? If the answer is Bluetooth, no. If it is cellular or Wi-Fi, yes — and ask which, because Wi-Fi needs a router the outage may have killed.
  • What does the app actually show? Fuel level, load and hours are useful. A start button you can only press from twenty feet away is a key fob with extra steps.
  • Is there a subscription? Generac does not publish one for Mobile Link on the pages we read, but the cellular upgrade is a separately sold accessory.
  • Can the machine carry my loads? Check this first and the app last — what size generator you need is the page that matters more than this one.
  • Is there a CO alarm? Two of the picks here publish one. It is worth more than every connectivity feature combined.

The short version

If you want to know what your generator is doing from another city, buy a standby unit — Generac publishes free Mobile Link monitoring from anywhere in the world with every Guardian Series machine, and offers a cellular upgrade for when the Wi-Fi is down. If you want to avoid walking outside in the dark, a Bluetooth app does that and so does a remote key fob, and only one of them needs a phone. If you want the generator to start by itself, that is 2-wire auto start plus an automatic transfer switch, and it has nothing to do with monitoring at all. Size the machine for your loads first; the app is the last thing on the list.

The picks in full

01 — Best overall

GENMAX GM8000iETC tri-fuel inverter generator

The only machine here with a phone app and a 2-wire auto-start input, published at 8,000W surge / 6,000W running on gasoline.

This is the only portable in the catalog that carries both features people mean by “smart”. GENMAX lists four ways to start it — “Push-Button Electric, Remote Key Fob, Bluetooth App, and Recoil Backup” — and separately publishes a 2-Wire Auto GEN Start function for an automatic transfer switch. Those are different things and the page below explains why that matters.

Tri-fuel is the other reason it earns the top slot. GENMAX publishes the output honestly by fuel: 8,000W surge and 6,000W running on gasoline, 7,250/5,500 on propane, 6,500/4,800 on natural gas. A natural gas hookup means it never runs out, which is the one thing a portable normally cannot claim.

The honest catch, and there are two. GENMAX's own spec table contradicts its own copy — it lists “Wattage 8000 watts” and “Running Wattage 8500 Watts” against the 6,000W running figure in the description. We publish both rather than pick one. And the company does not publish a Bluetooth range, or say what the app actually displays.

Skip it ifyou want monitoring while you are away. The app is Bluetooth, and GENMAX does not publish a range for it.

GENMAX GM8000iETC tri-fuel inverter generator
$1,499.99 · Check price on Amazon

#ad how this is funded · price as of October 22, 2026

Published specifications for the GENMAX GM8000iETC tri-fuel inverter generator
SpecificationPublished figure
Output (gasoline)8,000 W surge / 6,000 W running
Output (propane)7,250 W surge / 5,500 W running
Output (natural gas)6,500 W surge / 4,800 W running
Conflicting figureGENMAX's own spec table lists 8,000 W and a running wattage of 8,500 W, which does not match the per-fuel figures above
StartingPush-button electric, remote key fob, Bluetooth app, recoil backup
Auto start2-wire auto GEN start, for an ATS
Outlet1x 120/240 V 14-50R
DisplayOn-unit digital: running hours, load level, fuel level, amps, overload, low oil
SafetyBuilt-in CO sensor; EPA and CARB certified
App range and app dataNot published by GENMAX

Source: GENMAX — GM8000iETC product page (8000/6000 gasoline, 7250/5500 propane, 6500/4800 natural gas; 2-Wire Auto GEN Start; CO sensor; 14-50R). These are the manufacturer's published figures, not ours — we have not tested this unit.

02 — Best mid-size app-monitored portable

maXpeedingrods MXR4000 inverter generator

4,000W with a Bluetooth app data monitor and a CO alarm, at roughly a third of the price of the pick above.

The genuine use case for a Bluetooth generator app is not checking in from the office. It is sitting in a warm room at 2am and seeing the fuel level and load without putting boots on and walking out into the weather that caused the outage. For that, this does the job at a sensible price.

A CO alarm on the unit is the more important feature and it is easy to overlook next to the app. Carbon monoxide is what actually kills people during outages — generator carbon monoxide safety covers the placement rules no app replaces.

The honest catch: maXpeedingrods' own website is an automotive parts store with no page for this generator, so every figure here comes from the retail listing alone. No published run time, noise rating, weight or app range exists that we could find.

Skip it ifyou need published specifications. maXpeedingrods has no product page for this model that we could find.

maXpeedingrods MXR4000 inverter generator
$499.99 · Check price on Amazon

#ad how this is funded · price as of October 22, 2026 · $535.99 7% off

Published specifications for the maXpeedingrods MXR4000 inverter generator
SpecificationPublished figure
Output4,000 W, per the listing
MonitoringBluetooth app data monitor — remote data check
SafetyCO alarm
FuelGasoline
RVRV ready, per the listing
ModelMXR4000
App rangeNot stated in the listing we checked

Source: maXpeedingrods — MXR4000 inverter generator retail listing. These are the manufacturer's published figures, not ours — we have not tested this unit.

03 — Cheapest way in

maXpeedingrods MXR2400GT inverter generator

2,400W at 33 lb with the same Bluetooth app reporting, a CO alarm, parallel capability and an ECO mode.

33 lb is the figure that defines this one. At that weight it is a machine one person loads into a car, which makes the app a more natural fit — a generator you take places is one you cannot see from the sofa.

Parallel capability means two of them can be linked for more output later, which is a more flexible path than most buyers at this price expect — how to parallel two generators covers what that actually involves.

The honest catch: same documentation problem as its larger sibling, and 2,400W is genuinely small. This is a camping and short-outage machine that happens to have an app, not a home backup solution.

Skip it ifyou want to run a refrigerator and a furnace together. 2,400W is one or two things at a time.

maXpeedingrods MXR2400GT inverter generator
$359.99 · Check price on Amazon

#ad how this is funded · price as of October 22, 2026 · $399.99 10% off

Published specifications for the maXpeedingrods MXR2400GT inverter generator
SpecificationPublished figure
Output2,400 W, per the listing
MonitoringBluetooth app remote data monitor
SafetyCO alarm
Weight33 lb
ParallelParallel capable
ModeECO function
ModelMXR2400GT
App rangeNot stated in the listing we checked

Source: maXpeedingrods — MXR2400GT inverter generator retail listing. These are the manufacturer's published figures, not ours — we have not tested this unit.

04 — What 2-wire auto start is actually for

Generac 200A automatic transfer switch

A 200A automatic transfer switch in a NEMA 3R enclosure that covers the whole panel - the device that sends the start signal.

This is here to correct the most common confusion on the page. A 2-wire start input is not monitoring. It is a pair of terminals that let an automatic transfer switch close a contact and crank the engine when it detects the grid has gone.

The two features are frequently sold in the same sentence and solve opposite problems: an app tells you what the machine is doing; 2-wire auto start means nobody has to know, because the switch handles it. How an automatic transfer switch works is the longer explanation.

The honest catch: this is a 200A whole-panel switch and it is permitted electrician work, not a weekend job. It also assumes a generator big enough to carry whatever the panel asks for — which for most portables it is not.

Skip it ifyour generator has no 2-wire start input. Without it there is nothing for the switch to signal.

Generac 200A automatic transfer switch
$645.00 · Check price on Amazon

#ad how this is funded · price as of October 22, 2026

Published specifications for the Generac 200A automatic transfer switch
SpecificationPublished figure
Rating200 A
CoversThe whole panel rather than a selected set of circuits
EnclosureNEMA 3R aluminum, rated for indoor or outdoor mounting
NeedsA standby generator that starts on a signal
Warranty2-year limited, per Generac's transfer switch documentation

Source: Generac — automatic transfer switch specifications. These are the manufacturer's published figures, not ours — we have not tested this unit.

05 — The one without an app, and probably the one to buy

Westinghouse WGen9500DF

9,500 running watts and 12,500 peak, dual fuel, with a remote key fob, an L14-30R and a 14-50R - and no app at all.

Worth saying plainly on a page about monitoring: for most households the app is the least important specification on the machine. 9,500 running watts against the 6,000 of the top pick is the difference between running a well pump alongside the refrigerator and choosing between them.

A remote key fob covers the thing an app is usually wanted for anyway — starting it from indoors — without any pairing, firmware or battery in a phone. The remote start roundup ranks the field on that feature alone.

The honest catch: no app, no auto start, no telemetry. If you want the machine to tell you its fuel level from the kitchen, this will not, and you will walk outside to look.

Skip it ifmonitoring is genuinely the feature you want. This has a key fob and a panel, and that is the whole interface.

Westinghouse WGen9500DF
$999.00 · Check price on Amazon

#ad how this is funded · price as of October 22, 2026

Published specifications for the Westinghouse WGen9500DF
SpecificationPublished figure
Output (gasoline)9,500 running W / 12,500 peak W
FuelGasoline or propane (dual fuel)
Engine457cc 4-stroke OHV, cast iron sleeve
Tank6.6 gal (25 L)
Run timeup to 12 h on a full tank
Transfer-switch outlet120/240 V L14-30R, 30 A
RV outlet120/240 V 14-50R, 50 A
StartingPush-button electric with remote key fob
Warranty3-year limited

Source: Westinghouse — WGen9500DF product specifications. These are the manufacturer's published figures, not ours — we have not tested this unit.

How these were chosen

We did not test these. Nobody at Watt & Warden has plugged one in. What we did instead: read the manufacturer's published specifications, compile them into a table where the figures line up, and compute the numbers manufacturers leave out — runtime against a real appliance load, and what an hour of running actually costs.

Anything that could not be sourced was left out rather than estimated, and every pick names the buyer who should skip it. The full method is here, including where it is weaker than a publisher with a test bench.

Questions people actually ask

Which generators offer smart or remote monitoring?

Standby generators are where real remote monitoring lives. Generac publishes Mobile Link as free with every Guardian Series home standby generator, letting you monitor status from anywhere in the world by smartphone, tablet or PC, with text, email and push alerts. On portables, a handful of inverter models such as the GENMAX GM8000iETC and maXpeedingrods MXR4000 and MXR2400GT carry Bluetooth apps, which is a different and much shorter-range feature.

Can I monitor a portable generator from my phone while away from home?

Not with the Bluetooth apps on current portables. The Bluetooth SIG itself declines to publish a usable range figure, stating only that effective range runs from more than a kilometer down to less than a meter depending on conditions. A generator outdoors behind an exterior wall is a poor case for a 2.4 GHz radio, so treat these apps as same-property features. Cellular monitoring on a standby unit is the feature that works from away.

What is 2-wire auto start on a generator?

A pair of terminals that let an automatic transfer switch start the engine when it detects the grid has failed. It is a control signal, not monitoring - there is no telemetry in a 2-wire connection, just a contact closing. GENMAX publishes a 2-Wire Auto GEN Start function on its GM8000iETC, which is unusual on a portable generator.

Is Generac Mobile Link free?

Generac's Guardian product page states that Mobile Link Remote Monitoring is free with every Guardian Series home standby generator. The pages we read do not mention a subscription. The cellular connectivity accessory is sold separately and is marketed as an upgrade over the Wi-Fi connection for more reliable monitoring.

Does Mobile Link work with portable generators?

Nothing Generac publishes says so. Every statement we found describes standby generators, and the monitoring page is framed around staying connected to a standby generator and a propane supply. Treat Mobile Link as a standby feature until Generac says otherwise.

Is a generator app worth paying extra for?

Rarely, compared with output. A machine that cannot run your well pump is not a good purchase because it has an app, and a remote key fob already covers the main use case of starting from indoors. Where an app does earn its place is reading fuel level and load at 2am without going outside in the weather that caused the outage.

Why does Generac sell a cellular upgrade for Mobile Link?

Because Wi-Fi monitoring depends on a router, and a power outage usually takes the router down with everything else. Generac markets the cellular accessory as an upgrade for a more reliable monitoring experience, which is the same reasoning behind putting a modem and router on a small UPS.

Sources