Skip to content
Watt Warden

Outage Prep

Backup Power for an Automatic Pet Feeder

A feeder is a 10-watt appliance, which makes it one of the easiest things in the house to keep running. The catch is what the makers switch off to make their battery claims true.

By Sawyer V.Updated Published How we work this out
A tabby cat eating from a bowl on the floor.

Watt & Warden earns a commission on qualifying purchases made through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never changes a ranking, and our picks include products we tell you to skip. Full disclosure.

The verdict, in one paragraph

An automatic feeder is a 10-watt appliance — PETLIBRO publishes a power adapter output of DC 5V/2A — which makes it one of the cheapest things in a house to keep running. Most mid-range feeders already carry some backup: PETLIBRO publishes up to 24 hours of built-in rechargeable backup on the Granary 2, up to 48 hours on the Vision models, and 3 x alkaline D cells on its corded RFID feeder. The problem is not the schedule, which survives. It is that Wi-Fi is switched off on battery power by design, and your router has no battery either — so the feeder keeps feeding and you have no way to know. If being able to see that matters, the answer is a small UPS carrying the feeder, the modem and the router together.

What the manufacturers actually publish

FeederPublished backupPublished runtimeWi-Fi on battery?
PETLIBRO Granary 2Built-in rechargeable battery, includedUp to 24 hoursNot stated
PETLIBRO Granary 2 Vision / Vision Duo / 2 XBuilt-in rechargeable battery, includedUp to 48 hoursNot stated
PETLIBRO One RFID feeder3 x alkaline D batteries, not includedNot publishedNo — disabled to extend working time
WOPET HV10DPAC adapter plus 3 x D-cell batteries, not includedNot publishedNot stated

Manufacturer figures from the brands' own product pages, cited under Sources. “Not published” means exactly that — we have not estimated a runtime where a maker declined to state one. Live prices on the hardware above sit inside the buy buttons, each with the date it was last refreshed.

The finding: your schedule survives, your visibility does not

PETLIBRO's product FAQ for its One RFID feeder answers the question directly, and the wording is worth reading twice:

“The batteries should only be used as an emergency backup. When the feeder is powered solely by batteries, the Wi-Fi function and reset button will be disabled to extend the working time, while meal schedules will be carried out normally.”

That is a sensible engineering decision and a bad surprise. The reason most people buy a camera feeder is so they can check on an animal while they are away — and the moment the power fails, which is precisely when you want to check, the camera and the app go dark while the hopper keeps turning.

It compounds with something this site has written about before: a residential internet connection has no battery of its own. Even a feeder that kept its radio on would have nothing to talk to — what a power outage does to your internet covers why.

The three ways to solve it, in order of cost

  1. Put D cells in the feeder and accept the blind spot. Free, if the feeder takes them. The animal gets fed; you find out afterwards. PETLIBRO says alkaline, not rechargeable, for its D-cell models.
  2. Buy a feeder with a published rechargeable backup. Up to 24 or 48 hours, included in the box, nothing to remember. This is the right default for most households.
  3. Put the feeder, the modem and the router on one small UPS. This is the only option that keeps the app working. At 10 watts, the feeder is the smallest load on the strip.
  4. Use a small power station for outages measured in days. 256Wh against a 10W load is about 25 hours, and unlike a UPS it can be recharged from a car or a panel.

How long a feeder runs on what

Power sourcePublished capacityFeeder at 10 WKeeps Wi-Fi up?
Built-in rechargeable backupPublished as a runtime, not a capacityUp to 24 h, or 48 h on some modelsNo router power, so no
APC BE600M1 UPS600 VA / 330 WLonger than its published 23 min at 100 WYes, if the modem and router are on it
EcoFlow RIVER 2256 Wh / 300 WAbout 25 hYes, and the router too

The 10W figure is PETLIBRO's published adapter output of DC 5V/2A. The 25-hour figure is our arithmetic against EcoFlow's published 256Wh, before conversion losses. UPS runtime does not scale linearly with load, so the middle row is deliberately qualitative rather than a number we have invented.

What to check before you rely on any of it

  • Are the batteries actually in it? D cells are sold separately on every feeder here that uses them. An empty compartment is the single most common version of this failure.
  • Does the schedule survive a restart? Test it. Unplug the feeder for a minute, plug it back in, and check the schedule and the clock are still right before you leave for a week.
  • How much food is in the hopper? A 3L hopper and a 6L hopper are different answers to a multi-day absence, and no amount of backup power dispenses food that is not there.
  • Is there water? Feeders get the attention and fountains are the bigger risk — a pump that stops is a bowl that empties or stagnates.
  • What happens to the house temperature? For most pets this is the real hazard in a long winter outage, not the food — staying warm without power applies to animals too.

Where this sits in a household plan

If you already own a power station for outages, a feeder is an afterthought — 10 watts is less than a single LED lamp, and anything in the catalog runs one for days. The reason this page exists is that people who own feeders are frequently not people who own backup power, and the feeder is the thing that made them think about it.

The same logic applies to the other small animal loads in a house. An aquarium is a far harder problem because heaters and pumps run continuously — backup power for an aquarium is where that goes. A feeder, by comparison, is the easy one.

The short version

Feeders draw about ten watts, and most mid-range models already publish a backup of up to 24 or 48 hours. The schedule survives an outage; the Wi-Fi does not, because the makers turn it off to protect the battery and because your router has no power anyway. Put D cells in if the feeder takes them, buy one with a built-in rechargeable backup if you are choosing now, and add a small UPS for the feeder, modem and router together if you need to actually see that it worked.

Quick picks

#ProductBest forPrice
1
PETLIBRO 3L automatic feeder, dual power supply

Best feeder with backup built in

PETLIBRO 3L automatic feeder, dual power supply

A 3L timed dispenser whose listing states a dual power supply, with portion control and an airtight hopper.

One cat or a small dog, and short outages
$56.69 · Check price on Amazon

#ad how this is funded · price as of October 20, 2026 · $69.99 19% off

2
Sweetcrispy 6L automatic feeder for two pets

Best for two animals

Sweetcrispy 6L automatic feeder for two pets

6L and 25.3 cups across two stainless bowls, with a dual power supply and up to six meals a day.

Two cats fed on the same schedule from one hopper
$39.97 · Check price on Amazon

#ad how this is funded · price as of October 20, 2026 · $49.99 20% off

3
oneisall cordless Wi-Fi cat feeder, 3L

The one designed to run without the wall

oneisall cordless Wi-Fi cat feeder, 3L

Cordless by design on a rechargeable battery, with a published 100-day battery claim and Wi-Fi app control.

A feeder where there is no convenient outlet, or frequent outages
$52.99 · Check price on Amazon

#ad how this is funded · price as of October 20, 2026

4
APC Back-UPS BE600M1

Makes any feeder outage-proof, and keeps the camera alive

APC Back-UPS BE600M1

600VA / 330W with five battery-backed outlets - enough for the feeder, the modem and the router together.

A smart feeder you want to still see while you are away
$83.99 · Check price on Amazon

#ad how this is funded · price as of October 20, 2026

5
EcoFlow RIVER 2

For an outage measured in days

EcoFlow RIVER 2

256Wh and 300W at 7.7 lb - about 25 hours of a 10W feeder, or a feeder plus a router for most of a day.

Being away while the power is out at home
$198.99 · Check price on Amazon

#ad how this is funded · price as of October 20, 2026 · $249.00 20% off

Prices come from the retailer at page-build time and change constantly. Where no live price is available the button reads “Check price” rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind.

The picks in full

01 — Best feeder with backup built in

PETLIBRO 3L automatic feeder, dual power supply

A 3L timed dispenser whose listing states a dual power supply, with portion control and an airtight hopper.

PETLIBRO is the brand that publishes most about what its backup actually does, which is why it leads here. For its D-cell models the company's own FAQ is unusually direct: the batteries “should only be used as an emergency backup”, and when the feeder runs on batteries alone the Wi-Fi function and reset button are disabled to extend working time, while meal schedules carry on normally.

That last clause is the one that matters. The schedule survives the outage. The part you would use to check on it does not.

The honest catch: PETLIBRO's guidance for its D-cell feeders is to use alkaline D batteries and explicitly not rechargeable ones. Batteries are not included, and a feeder with an empty battery compartment has no backup at all.

Skip it ifyou need to see the animal eat while you are away. On battery power, PETLIBRO disables Wi-Fi.

PETLIBRO 3L automatic feeder, dual power supply
$56.69 · Check price on Amazon

#ad how this is funded · price as of October 20, 2026 · $69.99 19% off

Published specifications for the PETLIBRO 3L automatic feeder, dual power supply
SpecificationPublished figure
Capacity3 L
PowerDual power supply, per the listing
ControlProgrammable portion control
StorageAirtight
ExtrasVoice meal call, anti-jam design
Battery runtimeNot stated in the listing title we checked

Source: PETLIBRO — 3L automatic cat feeder retail listing. These are the manufacturer's published figures, not ours — we have not tested this unit.

02 — Best for two animals

Sweetcrispy 6L automatic feeder for two pets

6L and 25.3 cups across two stainless bowls, with a dual power supply and up to six meals a day.

Two bowls from one hopper is the arrangement that fails least often in a multi-cat house, because there is one motor, one schedule and one set of batteries to check rather than two.

6L is also a genuinely useful hopper size for an outage that coincides with being away. Capacity is the quiet half of this problem — a feeder that keeps working but runs out of food on day three has not solved anything.

The honest catch: the listing states a dual power supply but does not publish a battery-only runtime, a cell type or a count. Treat the backup as unquantified until you have the manual in your hand.

Skip it ifthe two animals eat different amounts. A splitter feeds both bowls equally by design.

Sweetcrispy 6L automatic feeder for two pets
$39.97 · Check price on Amazon

#ad how this is funded · price as of October 20, 2026 · $49.99 20% off

Published specifications for the Sweetcrispy 6L automatic feeder for two pets
SpecificationPublished figure
Capacity6 L / 25.3 cups
Bowls2 stainless steel
PowerDual power supply, per the listing
Schedule6 meals/day, up to 50 portions per meal
Extras10-second meal call
Battery runtimeNot stated in the listing title we checked

Source: Sweetcrispy — 6L automatic pet feeder retail listing. These are the manufacturer's published figures, not ours — we have not tested this unit.

03 — The one designed to run without the wall

oneisall cordless Wi-Fi cat feeder, 3L

Cordless by design on a rechargeable battery, with a published 100-day battery claim and Wi-Fi app control.

Every other feeder here is a mains appliance with a backup. This one inverts that: the battery is the normal power source and the published 100-day figure is a runtime rather than an emergency reserve.

For a household that loses power often, or for a feeder in a laundry room or a garage with no socket, that is a materially better shape of product — the outage simply does not register.

The honest catch: 100 days is a claim in the listing title, not a figure we have verified, and Wi-Fi features generally cost battery life wherever they appear. A cordless feeder also fails completely if nobody remembers to charge it.

Skip it ifyou want a feeder that is always on mains power. Charging it is a chore you have signed up for.

oneisall cordless Wi-Fi cat feeder, 3L
$52.99 · Check price on Amazon

#ad how this is funded · price as of October 20, 2026

Published specifications for the oneisall cordless Wi-Fi cat feeder, 3L
SpecificationPublished figure
PowerRechargeable battery operated — cordless by design
Battery claim100 days, per the listing
Capacity12 cups / 3 L
ConnectionWi-Fi, smart app control
KibbleRated for large kibble, per the listing

Source: oneisall — cordless Wi-Fi cat feeder retail listing. These are the manufacturer's published figures, not ours — we have not tested this unit.

04 — Makes any feeder outage-proof, and keeps the camera alive

APC Back-UPS BE600M1

600VA / 330W with five battery-backed outlets - enough for the feeder, the modem and the router together.

This is the pick that fixes the real failure. A feeder's own battery keeps the schedule running; it does not keep the Wi-Fi alive, and in PETLIBRO's case the company disables Wi-Fi deliberately to make the battery last. Meanwhile your router has no battery at all.

A small UPS with the feeder, the modem and the router on it keeps the whole chain up: the feeder dispenses, the camera streams, and the app tells you so. At a published adapter output of 5V 2A — ten watts — the feeder is a rounding error on a 330W unit.

The honest catch: APC publishes about 23 minutes at a 100W load. A 10W feeder and a router draw far less than that and will run much longer, but UPS runtime does not scale linearly, and this is still a short-outage device — backup power for a router and modem sizes that side properly.

Skip it ifyour feeder already has a battery and you do not use the app. Then this is solving a problem you do not have.

APC Back-UPS BE600M1
$83.99 · Check price on Amazon

#ad how this is funded · price as of October 20, 2026

Published specifications for the APC Back-UPS BE600M1
SpecificationPublished figure
Capacity600 VA / 330 W
Outlets7 total — 5 battery-backed, 2 surge-only
Run timeabout 23 min at a 100 W load
Transfer time6–10 ms typical
Battery life3–5 years depending on use
ExtrasUSB charging port

Source: APC — Back-UPS BE600M1 product specifications. These are the manufacturer's published figures, not ours — we have not tested this unit.

05 — For an outage measured in days

EcoFlow RIVER 2

256Wh and 300W at 7.7 lb - about 25 hours of a 10W feeder, or a feeder plus a router for most of a day.

256Wh against a published 10W adapter load is roughly 25 hours before conversion losses — our arithmetic from EcoFlow's and PETLIBRO's published figures. Add a router at about 10W and it is still most of a day.

The reason to prefer this over a UPS is duration and recoverability: it recharges from a car or a solar panel, and 7.7 lb means it can be moved to wherever the feeder actually lives.

The honest catch: 300W continuous rules out running anything else meaningful at the same time, and a battery left uncharged in a cupboard is not backup power. Top it up every six months — storing a power station has the rules.

Skip it ifyou are home. If you are there, you can feed the animal by hand and this is an expensive bowl.

EcoFlow RIVER 2
$198.99 · Check price on Amazon

#ad how this is funded · price as of October 20, 2026 · $249.00 20% off

Published specifications for the EcoFlow RIVER 2
SpecificationPublished figure
Capacity256 Wh; the Amazon listing states 243 Wh rated
Output300 W continuous, 600 W X-Boost
ChemistryLiFePO4, 3,000+ cycles to 80%
AC recharge0–100% in about 1 hour
Weight7.7 lb
Solar inputup to 110 W
Warranty5 years
Amazon listing name"RIVER 2 240" — the same unit, listed on its rated capacity

Source: EcoFlow — RIVER 2 published specifications (256Wh, 300W, X-Boost 600W, 7.7 lbs, 3000+ cycles, 5 years). These are the manufacturer's published figures, not ours — we have not tested this unit.

How these were chosen

We did not test these. Nobody at Watt & Warden has plugged one in. What we did instead: read the manufacturer's published specifications, compile them into a table where the figures line up, and compute the numbers manufacturers leave out — runtime against a real appliance load, and what an hour of running actually costs.

Anything that could not be sourced was left out rather than estimated, and every pick names the buyer who should skip it. The full method is here, including where it is weaker than a publisher with a test bench.

Questions people actually ask

Do automatic pet feeders have battery backup?

Most mid-range models do, in one of two forms. PETLIBRO publishes a built-in rechargeable battery giving up to 24 hours of backup on the Granary 2, and up to 48 hours on the Vision and 2 X models. Its corded RFID feeder instead takes 3 alkaline D batteries, which are not included. Check the specific model, because the two approaches behave very differently.

Will my automatic feeder still feed during a power outage?

If it has batteries in it, yes. PETLIBRO states that when the feeder runs on batteries alone, meal schedules are carried out normally. What stops is the Wi-Fi function, which the company disables deliberately to extend battery working time - so the food keeps coming but the app goes quiet.

Why does my pet feeder camera stop working in a power cut?

Two reasons at once. The feeder disables Wi-Fi on battery power to make the battery last, and your home router has no battery of its own, so there is nothing for the camera to connect to regardless. Putting the feeder, modem and router on one small UPS is the only arrangement that keeps the camera live.

How many watts does an automatic pet feeder use?

About ten. PETLIBRO publishes a power adapter output of DC 5V/2A, which is 10 watts, and feeders of this type are broadly similar. That makes a feeder one of the smallest loads in a house - less than a single LED lamp - and trivially easy for any power station to carry.

Can I run a pet feeder from a power station?

Easily. A 256Wh battery against a 10-watt feeder is roughly 25 hours before conversion losses, and adding a router still leaves most of a day. For outages measured in days, a small power station beats a UPS because it can be recharged from a car or a solar panel.

What batteries should I use in an automatic feeder?

Whatever the manufacturer specifies. PETLIBRO's guidance for its D-cell feeders is to use alkaline D batteries as an emergency plan and explicitly not to use rechargeable ones. Fit them before you need them - the batteries are sold separately on every model here that uses them, and an empty compartment is the most common way this fails.

Does the feeding schedule reset after a power cut?

No manufacturer we checked publishes an answer, which is itself worth knowing. Test it rather than assume it: unplug the feeder for a minute, plug it back in, and confirm the clock and the schedule are still correct before you leave the animal relying on it.

Sources